Skip to Content

View all Boards and Commissions > Boards and Commissions Detail

Boards and Commissions Detail | Member Names | Back to Previous

Title Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Committee 
Contact Name Robin Sudduth 
Contact Title Administrative Assistant II, State Fire Marshal 
Contact Phone 217.558.6743 
Contact Email  
Function The Committee is responsible for developing an annual award program to recognize fire fighters who were killed, seriously hurt, or displayed exceptional bravery or heroism in the line of duty;
working with fire-fighting organizations in state to designing, develop, and procure a Fire Fighting Medal of Honor;
selecting an appropriate date or occasion for presentation 
Term Fire Chiefs - 2 years; Other appointed positions – 1 year  
Senate Confirmation No 
Compensation Expenses 
Composition 10 members: 8 appointed by Governor: 3 fire chiefs from other than Chicago (Chief); 3 representatives of statewide fire-fighter organization (FFO); 2 retired IL fire fighters (Retired FF); State Fire Marshal; Chief, Chicago Fire Department.  
Authority 20 ILCS 3985/3001 

Member Names

Name (Last, First) Ascending Term Expires Member Since Appointed By Position County Title
Bishop, Jay  08/01/2016  02/11/2016  Governor  Member, Retired FF- 1 year term  Sangamon   
Clemens, Tim  08/31/2014  02/01/1997  Governor  Member, Retired FF- 1 year term  Cook   
Fortuna, Daniel  08/31/2016  01/01/2005  Governor  Member, FFO- 1 year term  Cook   
Freeman, Thomas  08/13/2017  10/01/2008  Governor  Member, Chief- 2 year term  DuPage   
Grady, James  08/13/2016  12/01/1999  Governor  Member, FFO- 1 year term  Will   
Perez, Matthew      Statute  Ex-Officio  None  Fire Marshal 
Santiago, Jose      Statute  Ex-Officio  Cook  Chicago Fire Commissioner 
Schrepfer, James  08/31/2016  12/13/2013  Governor  Member, FFO-1 year term  McLean   
VACANT  08/31/2005  01/01/2005  Governor  Member, Fire Chief  Williamson   
Welle, Rick  08/31/2017  01/01/2005  Governor  Member, Fire Chief  Madison   

Back to Previous | Apply