Skip to Content

View all Boards and Commissions > Boards and Commissions Detail

Boards and Commissions Detail | Member Names | Back to Previous

Title Commerce Commission, Illinois 
Contact Name Cholly Smith 
Contact Title Executive Director the Illinois Commerce Commission 
Contact Phone 217-785-7456 
Contact Email  
Function The Commission regulates public utilities and intrastate motor carriers;
sets some rates of electric, natural gas, telephone, water and sewer companies;
licenses household goods movers and relocation towing companies;
inspects railroad crossings and tracks as well as rail cars carrying hazardous materials. 
Term 5 years, expiring 3rd Monday of January in staggered years or until successor is appointed and qualified 
Senate Confirmation Yes 
Party Affiliation No more than 3 from same political party 
Compensation Chairman, $134,022 per year; Commissioners, $117,043 per year  
Qualifications No employees, officials, or stockholders of corporations regulated by commission, or persons subject to commission regulation. 
Composition 5 appointed by Governor, confirmed by the Senate. 
Chair Designated by the Governor 
Authority 220 ILCS 5/2-101 

Member Names

Name (Last, First) Ascending Term Expires Member Since Affiliation Appointed By Position County
Del Valle, Miguel  01/15/2018  02/08/2013  Democrat  Governor  Member  Cook 
Maye, Sherina  01/15/2018  03/19/2013  Independent  Governor  Member  Cook 
McCabe, L. Ann  01/16/2017  03/16/2012  Republican  Governor  Member  Cook 
Rosales, John  01/21/2019  03/03/2011  Democrat  Governor  Member  Cook 
Sheahan, Brien  01/20/2020  11/16/2009  Republican  Governor  Chair  DuPage 

Back to Previous | Apply