Skip to Content

View all Boards and Commissions > Boards and Commissions Detail

Boards and Commissions Detail | Member Names | Back to Previous

Title Coal Development Board 
Contact Name Bill Hoback 
Contact Title Deputy Director of the Office of Coal Development 
Contact Phone 217-782-6370 
Contact Email  
Function The Board promotes and develops an annual agenda for research and methodologies to increase use of Illinois coal resources;
advises the Office of Coal Development and Illinois Clean Coal Institute on coal research and development policy and projects.  
Term 4 years  
Senate Confirmation Yes 
Party Affiliation N/A 
Compensation Expenses 
Qualifications Representation of Illinois industries involved in extraction, utilization, or transportation of IL coal and financial or banking interests in the state, as well as persons experienced in international business and economic development. 
Composition 17 members:
8 "public members" appointed by the Governor; 1 member each appointed by -Speaker of the House -House Minority Leader -Senate President -Senate Minority Leader;

- President, University of Illinois -DCEO Director; -DCEO Deputy Director of Business Development;
-Illinois Department of Natural Resources Director or designee;
-Illinois Office of Mines and Minerals Director.  
Chair DCEO Director 
Authority 20 ILCS 1105/8 

Member Names

Name (Last, First) Ascending Term Expires Member Since Appointed By Position County Title
Bryant, Terri    01/09/2015  House Minority Leader  Member  Jackson   
Casey, John      Statute  Member  None  DCEO Deputy Director of Business Development 
Costello II, Jerry   08/25/2015  8/25/11   Speaker of the House  Member  Randolph   
Forby, Gary   01/24/2015  08/20/2010  Senate President  Member  Franklin   
Hafliger, Jim      Statute  Member  None  Illinois Office of Mines and Minerals Director 
Killeen, Timothy      Statute  Member, President, University of Illinois  None   
Luechtefeld, David. S.     09/18/1997  Senate Minority Leader  Member  Washington   
Miller, Marc       Statute  Member  None  DNR Director or designee 
Schultz, Jim      Statute  Member  None  DCEO, Director 
VACANT      Governor  Member  Perry   
VACANT      Governor  Member  Sangamon   
VACANT      Governor  Member  Williamson   
VACANT      Governor  Member  DuPage   
VACANT      Governor  Member  Peoria   
VACANT      Governor  Member  St. Clair   
Vacant      Governor  Member  None   
Vacant      Governor  Member  None   

Back to Previous | Apply